Setting up a Singapore Pte Ltd as a foreigner
Disclosure: Some links on this site may be affiliate links. If you sign up through one, we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. It never changes the prices we show or the order of the table. Details: Disclosure.
Last checked: 2026-11-01
The rules (from ACRA and MOM)
- You must use a corporate service provider. ACRA: "Foreigners must engage a Corporate Service Provider (CSP) to reserve a name and register a business structure." (ACRA requirements)
- At least one local resident. Every business must have at least one local resident: a Singapore citizen, permanent resident, or valid Employment Pass, Personalised Employment Pass or ONE Pass holder. EP holders must first get a Letter of Consent from MOM. (ACRA requirements)
- Moving to Singapore needs a work pass. Options listed by ACRA include EntrePass (venture-backed or innovative tech, apply before or within six months of setting up) and a Letter of Consent for Dependant's Pass holders. (ACRA requirements)
- Employment Pass salary floor. MOM's current minimum qualifying salary is $5,600 ($6,200 in financial services), rising with age. For new applications from 1 Jan 2027 it is $6,000 ($6,600 financial services). Candidates must also pass COMPASS. (MOM EP eligibility)
- Company secretary. Must be appointed within six months of incorporation, must be a natural person ordinarily resident in Singapore, and a sole director cannot also be the secretary (Companies Act s.171, as summarised by Acclime and Sleek; statute not linked directly yet).
Nominee directors
If you have no local resident, providers can supply a nominee (resident) director. The nominee is there for statutory compliance and does not run the business. Most providers ask for a refundable deposit:
| Provider | Nominee director price as published | Deposit | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| 3E Accounting | S$2,000 (W/GST S$2,180) per annum | S$2,000 refundable | linkChecked 2026-11-01 |
| Bestar | S$2,500 | S$2,500 refundable | linkChecked 2026-11-01 |
| Osome | Included in foreign packages (3 months in Starter, 1 year in Fully compliant) | "No deposit required" | linkChecked 2026-11-01 |
| Sleek | Included in foreign packages (3 months in Starter; term for other packages: see page) | Not stated | linkChecked 2026-11-01 |
| Grof | 12 months in Launch package | Not stated | linkChecked 2026-11-01 |
| Rikvin | Unknown / quote only | Refundable deposit required (amount not published) | linkChecked 2026-11-01 |
Watch the nominee period. A cheap package with 3 months of nominee cover will cost more once you renew.
Published foreigner packages
| Provider | Package price as shown | Source |
|---|---|---|
| Sleek | From SG$2,600 (page headline: all-in from S$2,250) | sourceChecked 2026-11-01 |
| Osome | From S$2,438 | sourceChecked 2026-11-01 |
| 3E Accounting | $2,515 (W/GST $2,713) + S$2,000 refundable deposit | sourceChecked 2026-11-01 |
| Grof (formerly Sprout Asia) | S$2,088 (LOC) / S$2,588 (Launch) / S$2,688 (Onshore with EP) | sourceChecked 2026-11-01 |
| Bestar | No package; nominee director S$2,500 + refundable deposit S$2,500 | sourceChecked 2026-11-01 |
All other providers in our comparison quote on request.
Steps
- Decide whether you will relocate (needs a work pass) or run the company from abroad (needs a local resident director, often a nominee).
- Shortlist providers and check each one on Bizfile (see How to check a provider).
- Compare the full first-year and second-year cost: nominee director period, deposit, registered address, corp sec renewal, accounting and GST.
- Prepare passport and proof of address for every director and shareholder (providers' KYC lists, e.g. 3E Accounting).